Season 2010

The first season of the Polo Cup in India commenced with an inaugural round at Shri Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex at Balewadi in Pune on May 30, 2010. The first race of Polo Cup was one of its kinds with over 7000 spectators at the race including a host of dignitaries. The second round of the Polo Cup took place at the Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore on July 18, 2010. After the inaugural races in a street format in Pune, this was the first time a Polo Cup India race took place on a race track. The action moved to the exciting Irungattukottai Circuit at Sriperumbudur in Chennai from Round 4 onwards which was followed by an intensive, two-day fitness camp in Ootacamund (Ooty).

Presence of Bollywood celebrities, such as, actress Gul Panag and fimamaker Prakash Jha added to the glamour of the event. One of the highlights of this round was an all-women race where Gul Panag also participated. Ace rallyist, Nawaz Sandhu thrilled spectators by winning the Special Polo Cup race for women. There was a close finish in round 6 between Sailesh Bolisetti and Parth Ghorpade, where Sailesh Bolisetti went on to become the champion of the debut season of Volkswagen Polo Cup India 2010. He made his international motorsport debut at the Scirocco R-Cup in Hockenheim, Germany in April 2011.